top of page

Liturgical Seasons

“Lent” comes from the Anglo Saxon word “lencten” which means “spring.” It was historically a period of fasting in the spring for those preparing to be baptized at Easter. For others already baptized it was a time to focus on renewal of their faith.

Our forty-day season of Lent begins with Ash Wednesday on February 22. Ashes have long been associated with penitence and reconciliation. The practice of marking a cross on the forehead with ashes is a reminder of our human mortality and need for reconciliation with God.

The Lutheran Church By The Lake will mark this day as follows:

9-10 am Imposition of Ashes by Pastor Wayne Young with time for private contemplation in the Sanctuary.

3 pm Ash Wednesday Service with Imposition of ashes and Holy Communion with Pastor Wayne Young.

Lenten Soup Suppers will take place on the five following Wednesdays at 5:30 pm followed by the Ray Vander Laan Bible Study video, “The Mission of Jesus” and discussion.

bottom of page